Search results

1. ErnieM

Latest harpsichord finished with sound

This is my latest instrument, finished in May of this year. The case is poplar and is ebonized with India Ink, a product I've never used before. I used SpeedBall Super Black india ink, and it was much easier to work with than I thought it would be. I will definitely be using it again. To hear a...
  2. ErnieM

Jim Byrnes Thickness Sander - Review

When building a harpsichord, there are a few parts that must be fabricated within a couple of thousandths of an inch for them to work properly. The harpsichord's jack, which ultimately holds the plectrum that actually plucks the string, is one of those parts. The actual dimension is less...
  3. ErnieM

California Air Tools free to good home

Hello all, I have a California Air Tools model# 10020C air compressor. It's six years old and, until today, has given me excellent service. Today, it started tripping the circuit breaker every time I tried to start it up. I may know a little about building harpsichords, but when it comes to...
  4. ErnieM

Band Aids

If you're like me, you manage to cut yourself a lot in the shop. The older I get, the more often these little cuts and scrapes seem to happen. As a result, I use a lot of band aids - not because I need them, but to keep blood off of the wood I'm working on. I've tried many brands of band aids...
  5. ErnieM

10 years - cigarette free

On November 1, 2011, after 45 years of smoking cigarettes, I tried an electronic cigarette on the urging of a friend. Today marks the 10 year anniversary - 10 years without a cigarette. While I am still somewhat addicted to nicotine through the use of e-cigs, my body sure doesn't miss the...
  6. ErnieM

Anyone know a good furniture touch up person?