Search results

1. S

Basswood

Painted kitchen cabinet stiles
  2. S

Question about older equipment?

I have been using a table saw without a riving knife for 44 years. Also have used a Craftsman RAS for 30 years. I have had no problems using these machines. I would say it depends on the wood used and also the person using the machine. The thing about a craftsman RAS is most are under powered...
  3. S

Question about older equipment?

I am just wondering why some of you say that this craftsman equipment is dangerous to work with? Why the radial arm saw? Not saying you are wrong, just curious of your opinion. Joe
  4. S

Woodworking and Pesticides

Sevin has a one day window before you can harvest a crop and eat it. Besides if I am correct, Kevin is a contact pesticide and does not enter the plant.
  5. S

Calculating BF used to make a cutting board

Don't worry about it. What she says goes.
  6. S

Soliciting advice on a workshop expansion.

I built my shop about 12 years ago with floor joists on 16" centered but each joist is only 10' long. My heaviest machine is a 16" jointer weighing in at 2000 lbs. Floor is 3/4" t & g plywood sub floor and 3/4" t & g 1 x 6 flooring. This floor doesn't give at all and doesn't even vibrate...
  7. S

How many amp panel for shop?

How much current do you have coming in to the shop from power pole or box? I had 200 amps at the pole so I put in a 200 amp panel. Overkill, maybe, but I have never had a low voltage problem.
  8. S

sanding cutting boards

Sand with 320, wet with water, sand 400 next day. Use beeswax and food grade mineral oil that I combine Apply to cutting board as a paste wearing nitrile gloves Heat with a heat gun and rub melted paste into the wood with gloved fingers (can get very warm on fingers) Leave overnight and polish...
  9. S

What color workshop floor would you do?

Use a color that your eyes like so you can find dropped nails and screws easily. Also use a color that does not eat light.
  10. S