Search results

1. C

Where can I buy 1/4 and 1/2 inch wood?

I've been working with my scrollsaw, I'm new to it and smaller projects call for smaller wood. It makes sense. But I can't buy anything wider than 6 inches at lowes or home depot, it's only hardwoods, I dont have a planer and dont intend to buy one. I'm new to this and I've just got no idea...
  2. C

Buying a bandsaw

I dont think from what I've seen or read about resawing that I'd really be interested very much in that but I might be at some point because I am trying to do scroll saw work also. I'm just not very good at it yet and I'll need to upgrade that machine too at some point. But jet does make a riser...
  3. C

Buying a bandsaw

The price is 450 so I would think it's worth it. I'm not sure I understand the importance of the width of the blade like you're talking about though. It's making me worry that I'm just too new to all of this.
  4. C

Buying a bandsaw

What do you guys think about a Jet 14CS? I found a used one on CL yesterday with a fence.
  5. C

Buying a bandsaw

I guess it's because I dont really understand them. I mean, I know their use is to keep the blade aligned and prevent it from shifting too much one way or another but using a solid block especially if the blade does run into it doesn't seem like it would be good for the blade between metal on...
  6. C

Buying a bandsaw

I can't thank you all enough for the responses to this. I agree with the importance of a sharp blade though, it's on the front line so to speak. I'm anxiety prone and although I'm sure the block guides would be fine I'd still rather go with the bearing guides. I was thinking about going...
  7. C

Buying a bandsaw

The biggest problem is that I probably can't spot things besides obvious things that are going to be wrong if I buy a used bandsaw. So maybe buying a new one is just the safest way to go for me. Do you guys have any recommendations as to brands to go with or avoid? And I'm still not sure whether...