Search results

1. creasman

Federal Card Table -- Finished Pictures

It's hammer veneered. I have a vacuum bag, but trying to learn the "old ways". Regarding the inlay a lot (most) of the period examples I studied only have the inlay on the front and side of the legs that would be visible. It's not usually found on the back side, but somehow this just didn't...
  2. creasman

I first glued up the substrate from the pine. After that I sawed the curve on the band saw leaving just a hint of the line. The hammer veneer requires the surface to be pretty flat for a good application. In this case I was making sure the curve flowed continuously and was flat across the...
  3. creasman

I first glued up the substrate from the pine. After that I sawed the curve on the band saw leaving just a hint of the line. The hammer veneer requires the surface to be pretty flat for a good application. In this case I was making sure the curve flowed continuously and was flat across the...
  4. creasman

Moving inside...

That's a nice space. I like all the natural lighting you have.
  5. creasman

Thanks for all the generous comments. I realized after the post that I should have provided a bit more description -- especially to a group of fellow woodworkers! The table top and legs are cherry. The aprons are veneered with sections of figured walnut. The cockbeading that runs around the...
  6. creasman

I finally finished the Federal-style card table I've been working on for some time. This has been a fascinating journey. Learned a lot of new skills and made/acquired several new tools along the way. I've posted a couple of times when it was still a work in progress. Here is the finished table.
  7. creasman

Craft Center Update

Nice space!
  8. creasman

HELICAL VS: SPIRAL CUTTER HEAD

I definitely see the advantage of the angled cutters. I often skew a hand plane to get a smoother cut. For those that own the Byrd cutter replacement head are these angled or straight?
  9. creasman