use for old files

bob vaughan

Bob Vaughan
Senior User
Many years ago when I worked as an auto mechanic, I made a gasket scraper from an old file...I clamped it in a vise and broke it at about 6" long, ground the end straight then beveled it to 45 deg, then used the side of the grinder to grind the "teeth" about 2" back on the bottom side...it was/still is the best, easiest to use gasket scraper I've ever used.
I've got sort of that same thing but I ground the nose straight so I had two edges for scraping. Makes a fantastic glue scraper. I may have to try the 45º bevel on another file.
Grinding hardened steel isn't difficult but it is slow. An angle grinder and wet rag helps if one gets too aggressive. The angle grinder gets the rough shape but precise, it isn't.

Rob in NC

Rob
Senior User
Most knifemakers, myself included, will rough grind to 80% pre heat treat and the remaining after heat treating. So yes... you can get an edge. Keep water handy. One pass on the grinder, dip in water...over and over.

gator

George
Corporate Member
Many years ago, my uncle used to make hunting knives out of old files. I don't know his process but I have one of them and it is beautiful with a bone handle..

Rob in NC

Rob
Senior User
Typically will anneal the files to make them softer and then do your grinding, etc... then heat back to critical, quench and temper back so they arent brittle. But OP already stated that he doesnt have a forge. He's already stated that he tempered them back a bit so will still be hard, but not brittle, which is just fine. I've done the same before with files. Just have to be careful during the grinding process.

tvrgeek

Scott
Corporate Member
So, as a file, they are too brittle?
Would a propane torch heat the last inch or so to "critical" and then which quench method? Air, Oil, Water?
Of course knowing what "critical" is. I don't think my IR spot meter goes that high. I'll check.

Rob in NC

Rob
Senior User