New 3M sander ENDED

smurg

New User
Marty
Thanks, much appreciated. Would you recommend one of these? I've always used fairly cheap Bosch sanders but my current one is getting a little long in the tooth and I'm thinking about getting something better rather than another disposable.

If you aren't looking to break into the 6" realm, the 125 REQ-Plus is "just" $215. I upgraded my $50 Bosch to it and can use it for up to an hour or so with limited residual vibration feeling in my hands.

Normally that would happen pretty quickly with the cheapies.

Oka

Casey
Corporate Member
TBH I use the Knock-off
for larger sandings, it has a 5mm orbit which makes fast sanding. It also has low vibration in the hand.
For larger work it is comparable to any other high end imho. But for just touch up I use the cordless.
Would I recommend, yeah absolutely. Just remember, I am not a production shop so my experience is through that lens.

Last edited:

Yelverton

Mitch
Corporate Member
If you aren't looking to break into the 6" realm, the 125 REQ-Plus is "just" $215. I upgraded my $50 Bosch to it and can use it for up to an hour or so with limited residual vibration feeling in my hands.

Normally that would happen pretty quickly with the cheapies.
Interesting. I try to minimize sanding, so I don't think there's a lot of incentive to go to 6". Does the festool take proprietary paper, or does standard 5x8 work? There are some things I don't like about the festool "thing." I know they're quality tools but the thought of $1500 chop saws and the like just makes me more than a little skeptical about whether you're paying for the name as much as anything else.

Yelverton

Mitch
Corporate Member
TBH I use the Knock for larger sandings, it has a 5mm orbit which makes fast sanding. It also has low vibration in the hand.
For larger work it is comparable to any other high end imho. But for just touch up I use the cordless.