New Member in Durham

JNCarr

Joe
Corporate Member
Hello All -
I am a retired, "well seasoned" woodworker of about 30 years and happy to be a new member of this knowledgeable and friendly group!
In addition to furniture, a few years back, I began focusing a lot of attention on wooden gear, open face (sometimes called "skeleton") clocks.
The fun aspect of most of the clocks is the hands run backwards even though they are numbered forward.
Here are a few pictures.
I look forward to learning from and sharing with everyone. And yes... I'll buy a few raffle tickets :)
Joe
SG on stand Web.jpgRHIT Clock web.jpgRevisn Clock Web.jpg

Last edited:

JNCarr

Joe
Corporate Member
Thanks for the welcome, guys.
To Mikeh74 - yes I now use a CNC. Cutting gears on the bandsaw is doable, but tedious!

Michael Mathews

Michael
Corporate Member
Great looking work Joe! Thanks for sharing. BTW, welcome to the NCWW family! What CNC do you use? I recently acquired a lightly used ShopBot and I'm still learning how to use the software and it! I'm very interested in dabbling in gears and something similar to what you've done. Oh, I'm not far from you...I'm in Chapel Hill near exit 266 of 40.

JNCarr

Joe
Corporate Member
I use an Axiom AR6 Pro (24" x 36"). For software, 3D Studio for design and visualization and VCarve Pro v.10 for job setup and direct misc. texturing, fluting, mortise cutting, etc.
For gear design, there are a number of programs on the web. I use a very handy and inexpensive program written by Matthias Wandel of www.woodgears.ca.
I'm sure there are more capable CNC experts than I in the forum, but am happy to help if you have questions.
We used to live just off of exit 266 in the Stoneridge subdivision until about 5 years ago.

Michael Mathews

Michael
Corporate Member
I use an Axiom AR6 Pro (24" x 36"). For software, 3D Studio for design and visualization and VCarve Pro v.10 for job setup and direct misc. texturing, fluting, mortise cutting, etc.