Look what I get to do this weekend

Mike Davis

Mike
Corporate Member
I have a friend that bent the blade shaft in a Saw Stop. They sent him parts and instructions.

He was nearly 80 and half blind. When he asked me to help I studied the instructions and had a lot of questions. He relayed them to support then they arranged for a tech guy to come and repair the saw. I was never more relieved.

bob vaughan

Bob Vaughan
Senior User
That pdf was instructive as to the direction of decisions when observing an ad for a second hand Saw Stop for sale with the descriptor "needs some work".

Warped Woodwerks

Senior User
I have a friend that bent the blade shaft in a Saw Stop. They sent him parts and instructions.

He was nearly 80 and half blind. When he asked me to help I studied the instructions and had a lot of questions. He relayed them to support then they arranged for a tech guy to come and repair the saw. I was never more relieved.

Bent the blade shaft?! How the...?!

Glad to see they sent out a tech.

Warped Woodwerks

Senior User
** UPDATE **

As I mentioned earlier, SS asked me to replace the arbor block. From reading other online forums, I figured this was going to happen. From what I read, SS asks the owner to either replace the cartridge cable first, then if that doesn't resolve the issue, replace the arbor block. If one or the other does not resolve the issue, they then do a saw swap

Obviously, they do NOT want to do a saw swap... well, not my fault.

At one point, they were looking into sending a tech to perform the arbor block replacement. Well, the NEAREST tech is 2.5 hours away.

"Well, that won't work." SS then asked me if I wouldn't mind driving the saw to the tech. :| First, I don't own a truck *GASP*. 2nd, renting a truck with any form of lift, then driving a 5 hour round trip will cost ME a fortune.

After some back & forth, getting a director involved, cost analysis, etc., they decided to perform a saw swap. *Sweet!*