1940s Dunlap 103-0603 Lathe Restoration

creasman

Jim
Staff member
Corporate Member
spindle adapters can be bought for 4 jaw chucks to fit it.
That is something I've been meaning to purchase. Do you have any recommendations on a chuck/adapter combination?

I agree the indexing pins are a plus. I think there are 120 around the circle (I knew once). I've used these when doing carving on turned legs as a way to segment the diameter into uniform sections.

PappiJoe

New User
E
Thank you all.

So here are some pics with additional info:

@awldune the headstock was fairly easy to disassemble. @Roy G here is how the grinding wheel was mounted. It seems to be a custom mount held in place by a set screw (the mount has 2 set screws but only one was actually touching the rod coming from the headstock. I am not sure how am I fitting a drive center to it?

1616877903420.png

Also I didn't hear any bad noises. I am no mechanic though. There is one ball bearing used at the right hand side of the sheaves that I would like to replace. Any idea on where to by a replacement?

1616877768372.png

I cleaned it up a little, here's a closer look on the ball bearing

1616877791147.png

@smallboat I am not sure how to confirm that this is an MT#1 headstock?

@tvrgeek these are the only parts we have. None of these look like a face plate to me. Do you see any? Maybe the one in the red circle but is very small and if it was, how would we mount it?

1616878143744.png

@creasman thanks for sharing! That tool rest looks like its at least twice as long as the 6" tool rest in my little Dunlap.

Finally, these are pics of the motor I plan to use... I need to wire it but other than that I think it will work. Any advise on where to get the cables I need? Feel free to comment :)

1616878340580.png

1616878358297.png

1616878380338.png

Thanks in advance;

E

Last edited:

creasman

Jim
Staff member
Corporate Member
here's a closer look on the ball bearing