DIY Solar Install?

LydaRA

New User
LydaRA
I'm in Charlotte. I'm also a networking engineer & BSA climbing instructor.

Anywhere across the state, has anyone tried DIY solar for their home? How was the experience? What did you run into unexpectedly? Recommendations?

junquecol

Bruce
Senior User
At NCSU's McKimmon center they have a solar demonstration house, at least they used to. It's a passive design. Had a friend who built same house and it met all of their expectations. One problem I ran into was neighbor's pine trees didn't read the specs on how tall to grow. There used to be a solar home tour in Orange County.

kserdar

Ken
Senior User
The "Green Home Tour" had lots of homes with solar (including mine).
Because of Covid-19 this tour was canceled this year.

The electrician wiring my home was a licensed solar installer. So, I just used him to get equipment and installation.
Not much help for the DIY. But, everything worked together and he explained everything to me.

My biggest problem was getting the power company (Piedmont) to put the correct meter on my house. After three months of my meter running backwards and them trying to bill me. When the solar was basically the only thing operating at the house. They finally installed a "net" meter and zeroed out my bill.

Oka

Casey
Corporate Member
I've done a few solar systems, they can go from basic to complicated. Here in Hawaii, a normal system for a home is between 26-40 panels (2'x4') a lot of people will install stand alone solar for AC, so the AC runs on a dedicated solar panel cell with enough back up batteries to last 12 hrs of ac use. Currently Hawaii gets about 35% of its electricity from solar generation.