Acid corrosion removal

Gofor

Mark
Corporate Member
A couple of recent threads on using citric acid or vinegar as a rust remover has brought to my mind a question concerning hydrogen embrittlement. While I was working in the aircraft maintenance field, one thing we were taught was to never use acid on high strength steel parts due to the possibility of causing stress corrosion cracking from hydrogen embrittlement. I was wondering if this would also apply to the steel in modern plane blades or good quality chisels. Has anyone noticed more chipping or cracking in the tool edges after using the acid corrosion removers? Not being a chemist nor metallurgist by trade, I don't know if this could be a factor in the low-strength solutions most are using, but I would caution against soaking Grade 8 bolts, etc.

One safety tip is to "Always Add the Acid" when mixing a solution. In short, pour the acid into the water, not vice versa. Pouring water into a concentrated acid can cause an explosive reaction, splashing it into your eyes, on clothes, face, etc.

Last edited:

marinosr

Richard
Corporate Member
This is an interesting question, following this. Certainly you are introducing hydrogen to the surface of the steel. I think that hydrogen embrittlement causes susceptibility to failure in tension, though. Plane blades, chisels, etc are never in tension during use.

Edit: maybe plane blades have a degree of indirect tension

Graywolf

Board of Directors, President
Richard
Staff member
Corporate Member
Mark, I used an acid on a saw plate once to clean it. It changed the surface of the steel to the point I can not raise a polished surface. At least without removing more steel than I would like. Now the saw is still in use and has held up well, but she ain’t pretty. I haven’t tested how brittle the steel is, but I’m certain that it’s not the same. I for one will not use an acid product to clean a tool again after that.

Graywolf

Board of Directors, President
Richard
Staff member