How to improve spray throughput? Floetrol additive, different product, or different equipment?

JimD

Jim
Senior User
I used to spray with a Wagner gun meant for low powered compressors like I have. It worked when everything was just right but I had to wait on the tank to refill a lot. Flotrol helped and works better than water in my opinion. The finish dries more normally but it sprays better. Then I got a Fuji mini mite 3 stage. It sprays a much wider pattern than the Wagner ever did. I had to turn it down because it would drain the quart cup in just a couple minutes and I did not need that big a pattern. If I was spraying a lot of doors I would be slowed down by refills. I have not sprayed latex with it but I am sure it can with a bigger tip. It also atomizes the paint a lot better so it dries to a smoother finish. The biggest limitation is now my prep and spraying skills.

AllanD

Allan
Corporate Member
I'm no pro and know less than those who have responded but here is another take. Before I invested in a turbine system I would consider whether you would benefit from a better air compressor. If it would open benefits in other areas of your shop in addition to painting then I would invest in that first. If you could justify say a 5 hp, 80 gal unit, even used, then I would bite the bullet. The whole problem may improve and speed up with enough air supply.

Henry W

Henry
Corporate Member
I'm no pro and know less than those who have responded but here is another take. Before I invested in a turbine system I would consider whether you would benefit from a better air compressor. If it would open benefits in other areas of your shop in addition to painting then I would invest in that first. If you could justify say a 5 hp, 80 gal unit, even used, then I would bite the bullet. The whole problem may improve and speed up with enough air supply.