Hello from Holly Springs, NC

Bubbafat

New User
Rob
Hey all, new member here.

I've always did little projects around the house and helped friends do things like build fences or decks - but I'm new to woodworking. A much more experienced friend is helping me build a workbench (my design and materials, his tools and experience) - until then it's saw horses.

I'm originally from Minnesota and came to North Carolina (with a 7-year stop in North Dakota) back in 2005. My wife and I have 4 kids (18g, 21b, 23b, 25g) - until this whole covid-19 thing hit we were empty nesters for a glorious 6 weeks. 3 of 4 have moved home for now but things will get back to normal eventually ... right? :)

My immediate interests in woodworking (right now) center around three areas:
  1. Learn the fundamentals using traditional hand tools and basic power tools
  2. Acquire and restore, for use, older hand tools (anyone have any rusty Stanley planers?)
  3. Apply those tools and knowledge to ultimately design and make built-in shelves and cabinets for our home
I look forward to learning from you all!

Rob

JohnnyR

John
Corporate Member
Welcome Rob - When this THING is over, 3rd Fridays we have a lunch in Cary - look for announcements here.

sawman101

Bruce Swanson
Corporate Member
Welcome to the family Rob, happy to get to know you. You've landed in the middle of one of the greatest sites on the web--very nice, friendly people, with a vast knowledge of any and ail manner of woodworking, and many here will reach out to help, just ask.

Bubbafat

New User
Rob
Welcome to the family Rob, happy to get to know you. You've landed in the middle of one of the greatest sites on the web--very nice, friendly people, with a vast knowledge of any and ail manner of woodworking, and many here will reach out to help, just ask.

Honestly, I was very pleasantly surprised to search for “NC woodworking” on Facebook and find something better than people fighting about politics.