"best" brush for shellac?

Status
Not open for further replies.

optimist

New User
Joel
First non-greeting post (so please be kind!).

I've never used shellac before but I'm studying up to try it on an old buffet I just stripped and stained. Trying to find the right technique has left me confused as to what type of brush to use. The more-conventional suggestions are for white china, badger or other quality natural bristle brush, but then I ran across a post by Donald Williams (http://www.shellac.net/brushes.html) where he says he uses a nylon brush.[FONT=Times New Roman,Georgia,Times] I'm ignorant enough that I don't even know enough to be embarrassed by not knowing who Donald Williams is, but in the best internet tradition of believing the last thing I read, now I'm confused.

Can someone make sense of this?

Joel
[/FONT]

nelsone

New User
Ed
I haven't worried too much about the type of brush. I think I have been using a brush made for oil paint and it seems to work fine.

I took a class last night in french polishing which is great in the luster that can be achieved.

One thing I will suggest is try the shellac over stain on a test panel to make sure it doesn't affect the stain.

DavidF

New User
David